“EAT ‘DA CAKE, ANNA MAE!” (click here to read the entire story)

 iketina.jpg

Ike Tuner is Dead.

Lets see…everyone’s probably seen the movie, so they know what scene that tag line is in reference to.  It’s one of my favorite scenes in the movie…and used frequently in my day to day life- as I have a friend named Tina who often SAYS I yell at her. (I don’t)

 The Ike and Tina Tuner Revue was once the hottest ticket in town.  They opened for the Rolling Stones (which is where Mick Jagger took the chance to rip off Tina’s stage movements….think about it.)  Many critics say that Ike actually had the first “Rock-N-Roll” song, it was called “ROCKET 88″- which he recorded with the Kings of Rhythm”released under the name ofJackie Brenston and His Delta Cats”. 

(don’t tell Little Richard though….he is the architect….WOOOO!

Actually, Ike and Tina were recognized in 1991, when they were inducted into the “ROCK & ROLL HALL OF FAME”….Ike was in prison, Tina accepted on his behalf.

In 2001, Ike published his autobiography entitled “Takin’ Back My Name.”  Here’s a quote from his book…“Sure, I’ve slapped Tina… There have been times when I punched her to the ground without thinking. But I never beat her.”

 

l_29966154b53347309d4fdcbf39cc9589

Scene from- “What’s Love Got To Do With It?” 

(where Tina is about to get punched to the ground…NOT beaten.)

7 Responses to ““EAT ‘DA CAKE, ANNA MAE!” (click here to read the entire story)”

  1. that was the saddest movies iv’e ever seen in my life i never new that ike had beaten her

  2. Actually apparently it wasn’t just a piece of cake like in the movie…he shoved an ENTIRE CAKE down her throat…that’s just wrong!

  3. One question though… whonahell is Ike and Tina TUNER?

  4. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  5. I drop a comment whenever I especially enjoy a post on a site or I have something to contribute to the
    discussion. It is caused by the fire displayed in the post I looked at.

    And after this post EAT DA CAKE, ANNA MAE! (click here to read the entire story) | Phillip Philes.
    I was excited enough to post a comment ;) I actually do have
    2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it only
    me or do a few of these responses appear as if they are written by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are posting on other online sites, I’d like to follow you. Would you make a list every one of your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • phillipphiles Says:

      thanks, i only post here and i have not had a lot of time to do it here in a long while… i would have liked to to a Joan Rivers piece but time just did not permit… i may some day though.

      • phillipphiles Says:

        and YES, i get a lot of spam here with half ass comments that make no sense at all… haha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

