Whatever Happened To Baby Jane? (click here to read the entire story…and to hear Bette Davis SING!)

So… my mom broke her ankle- this is my life for the next six weeks.

“By the way…we’ve got rats in the cellar.”

This movie has always been on my top ten list.  Total camp.  I loved every second of it.  I don’t think I was too much of a Bette Davis fan until I saw this movie.  “Dead Ringer” is another great flick worth checking out…and of course “All About Eve”.  As a kid, I remember seeing Joan Crawford on that episode of “Night Gallery”….ya know the one where she’s a blind lady in NY and….   that one.

These two sure made Hollywood History, not only on their own but with the filming of this movie.  There have always been rumors of the fights on the set between these two.  I thought I had read that Bette also cracked a rib or two of Joan’s while filming one scene when Baby Jane Hudson kicks her sister Blanche after she’s fallen out of her wheelchair.

Even after the movie was finished, the hate/hate relationship continued. There was that whole episode at the Academy Awards when Bette was nominated for an Oscar as “Baby Jane Hudson” and lost.  Guess who begged all the OTHER nominees to go up on stage and accept the award that night on their behalf?- should Bette lose.  That’s right kids, Joan was up on that stage and all smiles, while Bette fumed in her seat. (like she needed another Oscar anyway!)  Can you imagine what must have been going through her head as “Mommie Dearest” stood up there thanking everyone and holding that statue?

At some point, I would LOVE to find an original Baby Jane Hudson doll- that would be the ultimate.  Until then, I guess I can probably just play this clip to get my Baby Jane fix-

pssst….do you think she knew how bad this was?

4 Responses to “Whatever Happened To Baby Jane? (click here to read the entire story…and to hear Bette Davis SING!)”

  1. neverwriteitdown Says:

    When you think of Bette Davis, you don’t usually think of her on a variety show singing. Good job finding that campy, yet slightly disturbing video! I might watch it again and sing along this time.

    Hope your mother gets better soon. You should take a picture of yourself waiting on her dressed as BJ and post it. -M

  2. Hi , I’m searching for a baby jane doll also . Have you had any luck?

  3. ILoveBabyJane Says:

    I desperately want a Baby Jane doll too! I’ve had no luck either. Anyone find one?!

  4. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this
    to my followers! Excellent blog and great design.

Leave a Reply

