“Edna Turnblad has another birthday, how DIVINE!” (click here to read the entire story)

-and my diet pill’s wearing off!

Today, October 19- is Divine’s Birthday!

divine22.jpg

For those of you who don’t know who DIVINE is…explore.

Anyone remember this flick?

female_trouble.jpg

and who could forget little Taffy Davenport!

This is one of my all time favorite John Waters flicks.  And if you’ve only seen HAIRSPRAY and CRY BABY and think you know what a real John Waters movie is…

Go and rent “PINK FLAMINGO’S“…its a little more tame.  😉

Here are some of my favorite lines from “FEMALE TROUBLE“- 

Dawn Davenport: WHAT are THESE?
Mrs. Davenport: Those are your new shoes, Dawn!
Dawn Davenport: Those aren’t the right kind, I told you cha cha heels, black ones!
Mr. Davenport: Nice girls don’t wear cha cha heels!

____________

School snitch: Mr. Wineburger, Dawn Davenport is eating a meatball sandwich right out in class and she’s been passing notes!
Dawn Davenport: I was not eating!
_________

Concetta: I got a knife here in my pockybook and I’m gonna cut you up after class.

__________

Dawn Davenport: I’ve DONE everything a mother can do: I’ve locked her in her room, I’ve beat her with the car aerial. Nothing changes her. It’s HARD being a loving mother!

__________

Gator: Yah, Aunt Ida! Whoo Aunt Ida! Don’t you look hot today! Yah, Aunt Ida!

__________

Taffy Davenport: Mabel! Mabel! Set the table, don’t forget… the… red… hot… peppers!

Dawn Davenport: Taffy please stop it, you’re giving mother a migrane! You can jump rope in the bathroom! I’ve told you no jumping rope within ten feet of me!

__________

Gator: Hey Taffy, baby, come suck your daddy’s dick.

Taffy: I wouldn’t suck your lousy dick if I was suffocating and there was oxygen in your balls!

__________

Aunt Ida: Fucker! Pig fucker! Hetero! Filthy hetero stink-shit!

__________

Taffy: I am not retarded!

Dawn Davenport: Oh yes you are Taffy, I had you tested when you were a little girl.  A staff of doctors examined you and maybe the reason you dont remember is… that they told me that you are most definately retarted!

__________

Aunt Ida: And remember my offer still stands. If you get tired of being a Hare Krishna, you come live with me and be a lesbian!

__________

AND MY FAVORITE LINE IN THE MOVIE “FEMALE TROUBLE”….

Dawn Davenport: Davenport. Dawn Davenport! I’m a thief and a shitkicker, and, uh, I’d like to be famous.

“Happy Birthday Divine”-

To so many of us, you’re still “Pretty, pretty”.

Rest in peace, Harris.

TRIVIA:  It’s been said that “Divine” was the inspiration for Disney artists when creating “Ursula” from “The Little Mermaid”.

divine01.jpg

2 Responses to ““Edna Turnblad has another birthday, how DIVINE!” (click here to read the entire story)”

  1. I absolutely love your site, thank you very very much. I really miss all those folks.

  2. Hola…..mire este blog y me parecio muy lindo de tu parte recordar a Divine…..me encantan sus peliculas y su estilo transgresor ,divertido alegre ,etc,.,,,realmente es una obra humana de watters muy creativa y llena de mensajes ……para la sociedad….viva eternamente DIVINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

