“HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANNETTE FUNICELLO!” (click here to read the entire story)

M-I-C…See ya real soon! K-E-Y…Why? Because we like you!

M-O-U-S-E! 

I remember singing that years ago (sitting too close to the TV of course) and always noticing the pretty girl with the eyebrows and thick hair peeking out from underneath her “Mousekaears”.

mmc1

Today (Monday) would normally be “Fun With Music Day” on the Mickey Mouse Club.  However, being that today is October 22, it’s even better!

Today is ANNETTE FUNICELLO’S Birthday!

Annette Funicello Photo

I loved, LOVED watching the Mickey Mouse Club.

I loved Annette even more.  It was always pretty cool when she got to do a little extra on the show.  Dance, sing…whatever.  Of course, being 5 years old I had no clue that these shows were almost 20 years old by the time I saw them.  I just know when that “Mickey Mouse Club March” started, the world stopped and it didn’t start again for a half hour.

There was a song that I had a record of when I was little, it was sung by Jimmie on the Mickey Mouse Club- about Annette.  (I’ll tell you more about that in a minute.)  I had all the Disney “Read Along” books.  My favorite was always the “Jungle Book”.  I would go nuts, I mean NUTS when “I Wanna Be Like You” came on.  I mean NUTS!  Years later, my musical interests would mature and I’d “discover” Louis Prima (and the lovely Keely Smith) and I kept saying “That voice! I know that voice!”.  Then someone told me that Mr. Prima did the voice of “King Louie” from the Jungle Book!

I MEAN NUTS!…(just incase you missed it)

OK, so back to Annette.  By way of cable television, I got to see Annette all grown up and still singing.  Of course, being a child of the 70’s, when I saw that dark haired lady hockin’ SKIPPY peanut butter and saying “Remember me? I’m Annette Funicello” and thinking… damn, she looks kinda like that girl on that Mickey Mouse show I used to watch.  Derrr.  Who knew?

So, I watched the beach movies and always thought it was cool whenever the oldies station played “Tall Paul”.  Again, no idea about the teen queen singing career at the time either.  So, when the boxed set of “Annette: A Musical Reunion With America’s Girl Next Door” featuring all of Annette’s Buena Vista Recordings was released, I HAD to have one.  I searched high and low for it… finally after figuring out it was out of print for a year, I found a sealed copy for sale on ebay!  (my other addiction)

There’s one song I love that’s about Annette.  It was sung by everyone’s buddy, Jimmie Dodd. Here’s how it went…it’s called “ANNETTE”.

“Who’s the little lady who’s as dainty as a dream, who’s the one you can’t forget?  I’ll give you just three guesses…

ANNETTE, ANNETTE, ANNETTE.

  When she dances on her toes, she dances in your heart- with her pretty pirouette.  Each little move expresses-

ANNETTE, ANNETTE, ANNETTE.

  Though she’s just a cute preeteener- and her Father’s pride and Mother’s joy.  There will come a day they’ll give Annette away to the world’s luckiest boy- ask the birds and ask the bee’s and ask the stars above, who’s their favorite sweet brunette.  You know each one confesses-

ANNETTE, ANNETTE, ANNETTE. 

M’ oui she’s so magnifique`……and her Father’s pride and Mother’s joy, and there will come a day they’ll give Annette away to the world’s luckiest boy- ask the birds and ask the bees and ask the stars above, who’s their favorite sweet brunette. you know each one confesses-

 ANNETTE, ANNETTE, ANNETTE. 

 Ask the birds and ask the bees and ask the stars above who’s their favorite sweet brunette.  you know each one confess-

ANNETTE, ANNETTE, ANNETTE.”

As many of her fans know… Annette was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis.  I’m sure you’ve heard of this disease that robs people of their basic motor skills, sometimes their sight and other important every day functions.  I don’t want to talk about that part too much.  It makes me sad. 

Annette sang, danced and became an actress that touched the hearts of millions of people around.  She is officially a “Disney Legend”.

I still think about her every once in a while and wonder if she’s doing ok.  I didn’t  really know how to end this or what to say without making it too sad….I just wanted to personally take a few minutes to wish my favorite “Mouseketeer” a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY!  

And double “coolness” points for appearing with Frankie on the (now classic) “Pee-Wee Herman Christmas Special!”

 (If you haven’t seen that, go out get it!)

You’re one in a million Ms. Funicello- and we still love you.

(and still the cutest girl I’ve ever seen!)

annette-funicello-650

“DISNEY DIVA”

Update : April 8, 2013…Annette Funicello has passed away.

I feel as if a part of my childhood has been taken away from me.

We love you Annette!  Rest In Paradise….

annette funicello death

“now it’s time… to say Good-bye…. to all our company…..”

48 Responses to ““HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANNETTE FUNICELLO!” (click here to read the entire story)”

  1. You’re right, she was/is one of the cutest girls ever. Every guys dream back then. I too wonder how she is doing. Thanks Ms. Funicello for a lifetime of happy memories. You have our prayers and best wishes.

  2. If someone wants to hear Jimmy sing “A Tribute Song to Annette” go to http://www.youtube.com and do a search for ncatt or “Our Annette – Frankie Avalon”. It’s a video I put together about a year ago. I have a few others up there you may also like.
    enjoy!

  3. great job lassiter

  4. I was born in 10-22-56 my mother was in labor when i was born the show was on my father thought she was so cute that I was named after her. Dad always said i had her eyes. We share our birthdays. Every year on my bd I donate to the cause on her behalf… She was so magicial and bright like a star in the dark blue sky…

    Annette

    • ms. annette, my thoughta and prayer’s are with you today, my birthay is in the same month yours is. 10-30-1948. I always loved watching the mickey mouse club. you may not know this, but you have brought joy, love, hope and just radiance to all of your fans. I know that you would want people to remember you the way you were on the show. and we all will. your general presence, and the love you have for everyone always showed in everything that you did. I will be 63yrs young. and to show you how much I truly loved you. there isn’t alot that I can do, because I am disabled. I truly hope and pray that you bd is as speical as you are to everyone who knows you. ms. annette, if I may call you that. please remember everyone’s prayers are with you all the time. you have a very speical family who loves you, in fact you basically have two families, your mickey mouse family, your own family, and the baby boomer’s who grew up watch and seeing you perform. God bless your family. and may your bd is as speical as you want it to be. again, God bless and take care. please keep me updated on the progress you are doing. love you annette. you were like my big sister I never had. take care.ms. bonnie

  5. Happy birthday,Annette!

    Feliz aniversário,Annette!

    Il love you!

    Eu te amo!

    Marcelo Rosa dos santos

    Porto alegre – Rio Grande do Sul – Brasil

  6. Best wishes for love, good health, and prosperity, dearest Annette. Since 1958, I have adored you like you were my older sister. I am honored to keep you inmy thoughts and prayers.

  7. Nancy Belycia Says:

    Hi Annette,
    Happy Birthday Annette. I grew up with you and you were like a sister I never had. You came from Utica NY and I live in Coxsackie NY about 2 hours from Utica. I use to watch the Mickey Mouse Club everyday. I want you to know that my prayers are with you always and I will never forget you. God Loves you and so do I.
    Love & Hugs,
    Nancy

  8. tom Myers Says:

    Happy Birthday Annette. I was really little when I saw Micky Mouse, and I was a mouskateer from the beginning. I watched you grow up on the screen while I grew up as a fan, and loved the movies you acted in when I was growing up. You are as much of a part of my life as my dreams themselves. I wish you well and pray you will always be happy and free.
    One day we will all smile and maybe even hold hands and take the Muskateer oath once again. Everyone loves you Annette.
    ps; I had a crush on you when I was four, I still do.
    Lova ya, Tommi!!!

  9. James Baxter Says:

    I also run home 2 c the best lady on tv

  10. I live in cooperstown ny and have watched everything you were in ,you are a blessing to tv hope you have the best birthday and many more george

  11. Barbara Moses Says:

    Dear Annette,
    I have always been a fan of yours. A Mouseketeer forever. I wish you all the best life can offer. My prayers and faith are with you forever. A devoted fan to a beautiful woman, that’s YOU!

  12. Steve Christian Says:

    Forty years later I still have a crush on her. She represnts a time that is gone but will never be forgotten, at least as long as one babyboomer is alive.
    Happy Birthday and may God grant you many more.

    Stev

  13. Bob McGowan Says:

    Hello Annette,
    Wishing you happy birthday want you too know i’ve loved you since the mickey mouse days use to rush home from school everyday just to watch you.guess i still have a little crush on you take stay safe

    A dedicated fan

  14. Terry Farrell, Cambria, California Says:

    Annette is one of the few people in the entertainment world that everyone feels the same about; everybody loves her and has only kind words for her. I hope that there is someone in her life that will remind her now and then how much she is admired and that it brings comfort to her.

  15. In the early 90’s, I watched Annette “gimbily”walk across the stage at an awards show, and I knew the sensation she was feeling, it sent shivers up my spine, a few years later I was diagnosed with MS. For whatever reason, after connecting with her pain as she walked, I bonded with her and have thought of her often. I wish her well, and she is always in my heart….

  16. Jim Kennedy Says:

    Dearest Annette,

    How often I think of you.

    You brought such joy to my childhood.

    Later in Pittsburgh I had the pleasure of seeing you perform. It was a wonderful evening that I will never forget.

    I married Deborah Kaufman, a beautiful brunette.

    You are very special to me.

    And someday I will meet you again in heaven. We will sing Glory, Glory, Glory to our blessed Savior.

    I look forward to that day.

    With all my respect and love,

    Jim Kennedy

  17. joyce benedetto Says:

    hi annette, i pray for u always. god has given u a hill to climb & now u r getting tired. please know how many people love u & will miss u. i am 65 & doin ok, but often wish i could turn back time. my love to u, god bless u. joyce benedetto. from nj, but born & raised in south philly.

  18. Dear Annette
    Your courage and strength have inspired me so much. I had a cousin with MS and she passed away at 37. I think of you ofter and remember how much joy you brought to so many MM fans, me included. I have some of your recordings and I listen to them alot. How will I know my love is probably my favorite. My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family. May God watch over you and protect you.

    A fan of yours for many many year
    Best wishes
    Pat

  19. Shirley Rothman Says:

    Dear Annette,
    I remember watching the Mickey Mouse Club and all of your movies. I have been a fan of your ever since I can remember. I know that you are a fighter and will keep on fighting. You have so many fans that love and respect you and your fight with MS. May God keep you strong so you can keep fighting for you, your faimily and your beloved fans. Whom love you so very much. Much love and many more birthdays to come.

    Love Shirley
    A fan forever

  20. Happy Birthday Annette! I am proud to say that some folks thought I looked like you back then, I take that as a real compliment for I always thought you were very attractive and have to say you still are. You are a blessing and our Lord has a special place for you in heaven when that time should come, so I will see you up there some day Lord willing. God Bless you and your’s always. Linda

  21. Jeff Dixon Says:

    We can’t remember when you were not in out lives. We grew up with you with the MM club, the Disney’s pictures and the all popular beach movies.

    No time in history has one person made the loving empact on so many
    people.

    We need to have comgress makee you a national treasure.

    We all love you,
    Jeff

  22. Annette HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY. I watched you grow up as I did at the same time. We are about the same age and we are related although distantly. You made my night with the mickey mouse club and when it was you they highlighted I was in heaven. I saw all your movies and have some old 45 records of you singing. I tried to find all your movies but of course I am missing some. You are always in my heart and in my prayers. You are a true inspiration to all young girls and women that you lived an extranordinary life one that any girl/woman would be proud of. Take good care of yourself and I hope to have updates on you. My family is from Italy and the Nero family sends their love and prayers.

  23. I loved her and now. She sent me a photo I still have it today…I wish as a Doctor now I could make her well…Thanks to the best love of my life.

    Dr. Bob Garrison

  24. Bad things should only happen to bad people.

    I am 59 years old, and I have been in love with Annette, since – well I can’t remember when I wasn’t in love with her.
    When I was in grade school, she didn’t know it, but she was my TV girlfriend. I knew that when I grew up I would marry her.
    ( that did not happen )

    As time went by, I drove my friends nuts – draging them to the “beach” movies. Yes there were girlfriends, and I married a wonderful woman.
    – buy I still had a crush on Annette.
    My wife was diagnosed with MS in 1985. As I understand it, Annette was didagnosed with MS a few (#?) years later.
    My wife and I were saddened to hear this, because we knew what terrible affects MS can have on people. The victm of the desease, and the victim’s family and friends. We prayed that Annette’s symptems would be minimal.

    My wife kind of liked the idea that my secret girlfrirnd was “America’s Sweetheart” – Annette – she adnired her so much.

    My dear wife passed away in 2005 and I miss her terribly.

    My heart goes out to Annette and her family.

    I know that If I’m a good boy, I will be with my wife again, and If my wife lets me ( she will ) I’ll get to meet Annette.
    Love and prayers to you Annette, and your family

    Mark

  25. PennyHughes Says:

    i loved always watching annete funicello movies and
    songs her and frankie avolon done together, and ,and I
    know she still is a beautiful woman , when I found out
    about her illness Iwas surprised ,iwill always keep her in
    my Prayers, I always loved watching the mickey mouse cartoons
    and the mickey mouse club with all the mousekateers, and i
    have amickey mouse night shirt i love so well, annette
    I prayer that you get well . Penny

  26. GloriaRanger Says:

    Don’t know why I thought of her today, but I did, clicked on her name only to find out it is her birthday. I’m nearly 62 and watched her from the start. She was fantastic, I was very sad when she was diagnosed, I wish her a very happy birthday and hope that she is doing okay.

  27. ChuckGrass Says:

    I will always remember he days you were wth the mouseleetrs.
    I still wonder how you doing today? Happy BIRTHDAY
    I will be 67 in Nov

  28. I have seen some retro beach films she was in opposite avalon. she always played “the lady/the good girl” Happy belated birthday, annette!

  29. BOB HJORTSBERG Says:

    HI ANNETTE I HAVE BEEN WATCHING YOU SINCE DAY ONE. I DONT THINK THAT I EVER MISSED A SHOW. I HAVE ALL YOUR MOVIES, AND SOMETIMES I WILL WATCH TWO OR THREE. I WAS SO SAD WHEN AT THE END OF ( BACK TO THE BEACH )YOU WERE HAVING PROBLMS. WHAT YOU DONT IS THAT WHEN I WAS VERY YOUNG I RAN AWAY FROM HOME SO I COULD MEET YOU I THOUGHT THAT YOU WERE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL GIRL IN THE WORLD, I DIDENT GET FAR, MABY TO THE END OF THE BLOCK. THEN I REALISED THAT I DIDENT KNOW HOW TO FIND YOU. NOBODY EVEN NEW I WAS GONE FOR THAT FIVE OR TEN MIN’S. WELL I JUST WANTED YOU TO KNOW THAT YOU WERE MY FIRST GIRLFRIEND..IM SIXTY FIVE YEARS YOUNG, HAPPY BIRTHDAY AND I HOPE YOU HAVE ALOT MORE AND MABY I WILL GET TO MEET YOU ONE DAY IN A BEAUTIFUL PLACE WERE YOU AND I WILL HAVE A NEW HEALTHY BODY. WITH LOVE ALWAYS BOB=============

  30. Hello Annette,

    I have always admired you so much and am watching Beach Blanket Bingo right now with my husband. I so wanted to be just like you on the Mickey Mouse Club you have made such an impact on my life and hoping you are doing well, I have always wanted to meet you. Please know how much you have meant to a little country girl from ohio that still loves you dearly.
    Love
    Evie

  31. George Weiland Says:

    Annette

    20 years ago I read that we share the same birthday. October 22, 1942, back in northwest Indiana for me…..near Chicago. Now I live near Ann Arbor, MI. Back when the Mickey Mouse Club was going I guess that I was just becoming a teenager and I was in love with you. Still am. Hope that you have a great birthday on Thursday. My wife is taking me to Ann Arbor for a sandwitch for my birthday and Sunday my 2 kids are coming over for dad’s birthday.

    Love George

  32. I am 61 years old, and like many people my age, I grew up in love with two girls. One was Annette Funicello and the other was Hayley Mills. I’m still in love with both of them! I wish they both still made public appearances, but I guess for Annette that’s impossible.

  33. shirley cole Says:

    A happy birthday to you.

    Y0u have always been a lady and you are loved by many.

  34. Nancy Deneen Says:

    ” Happy belated Birthday Miss Funicello .” I hope and pray you are doing better at this time. I grew up watching you. I loved all your Beach Blanket Movies. You are truely a star. ” GOD ” bless you in every way.

  35. Pauline Allain Says:

    I grew up watching MIckey Mouse Club and Annette was always my favorite. I always watched the movies she did. Beach Blanket Bingo all those movies I loved to watch over and over. I also was gifted one year an Annette Funicello album. To this day I still have it and it still plays. Annette has always been an idol to me. When she was diagnosed with MS I was so sad for her and ashamed to say I didnt know much about MS. I kept Annette in my thoughts and prayers all the years. I was diagnosed with MS in 2004, and now understand the true meaning of Multiple Sclerosis. Annette is not just my idol, but my inspiration. I admire her will to fight this horrible disease and I will also continue to fight this disease and pray that there is a cure and very soon. Happy Belated birthday Annette. May your inspiration touch many others as you have touched my life. From a loving devoted fan forever.

  36. Chuck DeBaise Says:

    God Bless You Annette. Thank you for making the world a bit brighter! I lost my Aunt & her daughter to MS, & my dad passed from a degenerative disease quite similar in neurological infirmity to MS. You epitomized an age of innocence many of us long for again!

  37. Leigh Fiteny Says:

    I hope she is doing well I am the goddaughter of Marc Breaux who was the choreographer for Sound of Music, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and amary Poppins. fitenyleigh@yahoo.com

  38. i watch your t.v show

  39. You show a montage of photos of Ms. Finicello on this site.
    My question: What does that magazine cover, showing Ed “Kooky” Burns and that blonde starlet, have to do with Annette Funicello?

  40. Leigh Fiteny Says:

    I love Annettte Funicello from close family friend of Marc Breaux choreographer for Sound of Music, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Mary Poppins

  41. Dear anette

    I ahve been following you for years especially after I was diagonosed with M.S. I have been wondering for so long how you are doing. I have an Idea of what you are going through. I wish you nothing but the best. VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY
    Your Old buddy

    Larry Ge

  42. Wanda Anderson Says:

    Hi Annette,

    I was 13 years old when I first watch the Mickey Mouse Club. I could not wait until I got home in the evenings to see it. I came from a family of 5 brothers and no sisters and raised by some pretty wonderful parents. I wanted to be on the show so much and perform. The closest I ever got to acting was taking 6 years of drama in school.

    I always kept up with you and your family. I dreamed I would meet you one day. Always admiring you and yearning for the good old times of THE MICKEY MOUSE CLUB. I am very happy I lived in those times so simple and innocent. Now I am 65 years of age and I don’t feel a bit over 30 and can go back in time in just a flash. I would love to hear back from you.

    Myself, I married only once in the catholic churst but divorced in 1981. I have one daughter (Nicol Lea) who is 31 years of age but gave me two wonderful grandsons – Ethan – 9 years old and Kyle 6 years of age. I love them so much.

    I’m holding back from retiring hearing so many awful stories about how lonely and uneeded it makes you feel. I live my days like it’s my last day on earth.

    I admire you so very much. My prayers will always be with you and your family. Keep the FAITH.

    I know this is asking a little bit but if you could please email me back or send me a personal note (leaving your address off for your privacy) and an autograph photo of you to 3168 College Street, Slidell, La. 70458.

    I need to go for now because I am suppose to be relieving the front desk. You see, I work for ITT Technical Institute here in Baton Rouge, La.. Bye for now, I surely hope my dream come true and will be hearing from you soon.

    GOD BLESS YOU AND YOU WILL RECOVER ONE DAY.

    Just a true friend from the days before we all had to grow up.
    Take care!

    Love and Friendship,

    Wanda Landry Anderson

  43. HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANNETTE. YOU HAVE BEEN AN IDOL TO ME ALL MY LIFE. NEVER MISSED THE MICKEY MOUSE CLUB. LOVE YA

  44. it is january 24th,2011,and came to mind and i do hope god is keeping you safe and comfortable annette;you gave me and millions more so many nice memories that will last forever;i think of you often and pray for you;i had and still have one wish and that is someday i get to see you in person;
    god bless and take care of you always; love from a far;
    aubrey greening,canada,newfoundland,labrador city

  45. Maryann Hatcher Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEET ANNETTE , IV SEEN ALL YOUR MOVIES AND SONGS, I LOVED ALL YOUR MUSIC ANNETTE THERE ISNT ENOUGH WORDS HOW WE LOVE YOU YOUR IN MY PRAYERS DEAR , LOVE YOU GOD BLESS YOU SWEETIE……..ALL OUR LOVE MARYANN HATCHER XX OUR MICKEY MOUSE GIRL TAKE CARE HUN

  46. Lee-Ann Says:

    It has been a long time since we had our birthdays in North Hollywood as 5 & 6 year olds. Goodbye my first best friend,
    Lee-Ann

  47. Hey! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out and tell you I really enjoy reading your
    blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that
    go over the same subjects? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

